The Stages of Teething

Raising a new child is a wonderful, difficult task for anyone. Navigating all the different stages of growth can be interesting to say the least for parents, and one of the most interesting stages for parents is teething. That’s why Smile Workshop is putting together the stages of teething for parents to use as a guide and monitor when it’s time to get those new teeth checked!

Stage 1: 0 – 6 Months

Your child is born with a full set of pearly whites, but they haven’t grown in yet. These teeth are sometimes called “milk teeth,” because babies are typically fed a diet of milk and formula at this stage in their lives.

Stage 2: 6 – 12 Months 

A lot will be happening in your child’s dental cycle during this time! Expect the appearance of your child’s incisors, the upper and lower teeth, first. You’ll notice your child chewing on everything in sight, this is an effort for your child to relieve pain from the new teeth coming in. You’ll also notice extra saliva – don’t be alarmed, this is pretty normal.

The incisors will be followed by the primary molars, located in the upper and lower jaw towards the back of the mouth. Expect similar teething symptoms to the incisors.

Stage 3: 12 – 22 Months

Your baby’s canine teeth will begin to appear – these are located between the incisors and molars. Make sure to keep your child comfortable as this stage may be painful.

Stage 4: 23 – 33 Months

Here come the molars! These are typically the most painful teeth as they are the largest in the child’s mouth. New mthods of keeping your baby calm may be more effective with increased levels of pain.

Be vigilant and watch your baby’s patterns! Notice what they gravitate towards and find toys or teething objects that work best with every child. Make sure to contact Smile Workshop if you have any questions or if you want to schedule an appointment.

– Smile Workshop